Saturday, June 26, 2010

Obama sends delegation to Aquino-Binay inauguration

MANILA, Philippines – US President Barack Obama will send a delegation to Manila for the inauguration of the President- and Vice president-elect Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III and Jejomar Binay on Wednesday.

Obama announced on June 25 that he chose US Trade Representative Ron Kirk to head the delegation. Kirk is also a member of Obama’s Cabinet.

US Ambassador to Manila Harry Thomas Jr. was pleased that Obama selected Kirk to lead the delegation.

“I am delighted that President Obama personally chose Ambassador Kirk to lead the US delegation to the inauguration.

“This signals the US government's commitment to increasing trade opportunities with the Philippines. We look forward to working with the new government on these and many other issues,” Thomas said.

Earlier reports stated that 3 East Asian leaders have confirmed their attendance at Aquino and Binay’s inauguration on June 30.

They are Thai Prime Minister Aphisit Vejjajiva, Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak, and East Timor President Jose Ramos Horta.

Last week, Malacañang declared June 30, the day of Aquino’s inauguration, as a special non-working holiday.

The inauguration has caught the attention of the international media who have applied for media accreditation to cover the event. These include the British Broadcasting Corporation or the BBC, CNN, The New York Times and even National Geographic and popular bloggers. (Related story: Aquino fairy tale piques global interest in RP)

Presidential Management Staff head Elena Bautista-Horn said P10 million has been allotted for the inauguration. The organizers of the inauguration added there are enough facilities to ensure the entire world would be able to witness the historic event. (Related story: Palace sets aside P10M for Aquino inauguration)

Aquino, son of the late democracy icons President Corazon Aquino and Senator Benigno "Ninoy" Aquino Jr., won the May 10, 2010 elections to serve as the 15th President of the Philippines.

His Vice-president-elect, meanwhile, is the former mayor of Makati City.

No comments: